Apr 25
HomeLoginBrowseNewsTV SchedulePreferenceHelp

Shakey's V-League (2004)

Shakey's V-League

The Shakey's V-League is an intercollegiate women's volleyball league in the Philippines formed in 2004 under the a management group led by former PBA commissioner Jun Bernardino and pizza company Shakey's. Jun Bernandino invited his fellow Ateneo alumni Moying Martelino, Tony Boy Liao, Ricky Palou and Jun Capistrano in the 2nd conference of the 1st season to be included in governing the Shakey's V-League.

The member teams are from different schools around Metro Manila with UAAP powerhouses Far Eastern University, Adamson University, Ateneo de Manila University; NCAA powerhouses San Sebastian College - Recoletos and V-League newcomer De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde; and the WNCAA champion Lyceum of the Philippines University. The two visayan teams namely the University of Saint La Salle in Bacolod and University of San Jose - Recoletos in Cebu will play in the quarterfinals. The teams that also participated are the back-to-back Defending V-League Champions University of Santo Tomas, UAAP powerhouses De La Salle University-Manila and University of the East, and NCAA powerhouses Colegio de San Juan de Letran and Philippine Christian University, and the Philippine Sports Commission.

The UST Tigresses won the first-ever V-League championship in 2004 defeating the La Salle Lady Archers. But the De La Salle University-Manila volleybelles have won the last three conferences of the said league defeating their arch-rivals, UST Tigresses in both conferences of Season 2 and SSC - R Lady Stags in Season 3, sweeping them both in the Finals of the three conferences.

This year (2008), each team was allowed to acquire 2 guest players to boost their lineup in which they can allow either a former member of a school's volleyball lineup or anyone outside of it. All games (meaning from eliminations to finals) were held at The Arena in San Juan City. TV network National Broadcasting Network was signed up to cover the said prestigious tournament.

Average Rating
Your Rating

7,748 out of 91,512 series
10 out of 10 stars
3 votes

Alternative Title : [Add An Alternative Title]
Status : Running Edit Status
Running Time : 2 hours
Number of Episodes : [Edit Number of Episodes]
Season Count : 8
Language : Tagalog
TV Station : NBN 4
Country : Philippines
Picture Format : NTSC (480i)
Audio Format : Stereophonic Sound
Camera Setup : Multi-Camera setup
Genre : Sports

2011 1st Conference: Preliminary - Lady Altas vs. Lady Bulldogs 2011 1st Conference: Preliminary - Lady Eagles vs. Lady Tamaraws

Tags :